WordPress comments lead to fake profiles on LinkedIn

Although it has nothing to do with real spam, it caught my attention when managing the MX Lab blog. When reading some comments I noticed that the provided URL was leading to a LinkedIn profile. Some examples below.

New comment on your post #125 “Email pollution and spam to think about”
Author : Heartburn Home Remedy (IP: 92.112.90.181 , 181-90-112-92.pool.ukrtel.net)
E-mail : vin45ce45622@gmail.com
URL    : http://www.linkedin.com/in/heartburnhomeremedy
Whois  : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=92.112.90.181
Comment: 

I read your blog for quite a long time and must tell   that your posts are always valuable to readers.

And this one

New comment on your post #230 “Nice Citibank phishing attempt example”
Author : How to Get Six Pack Fast (IP: 92.112.81.15 , 15-81-112-92.pool.ukrtel.net)
E-mail : vincedel422@gmail.com
URL    : http://www.linkedin.com/in/howtogetasixpackfast
Whois  : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=92.112.81.15
Comment: 

After reading   this article, I just feel that I   need more info. Can you suggest some   resources  ?

When visiting the URL it leads us to the fake LinkedIn profile.

Notice the three web site links in the profile. They lead to http://bit.ly which is a URL shortener & tracking service.

Following sites appear when visiting some links, obviously very commercial.

Be carefull when using or visiting sites that are being promoted through a URL shortening and tracking service. Because of the fact that the URL is so short and no details are visible about the real URL, it is possible that you could end up visiting sites that host malware or are phishing sites. It’s a very common technique to lure the surfer.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers