Postcard greetings leads to site that hosts malware

MX Lab intercepted a few samples a new postcard greeting email with the subject “You received a new greeting!!”.

The body of the email:

You have just received a postcard Greeting from someone who cares about you…

Just click here to receive your Animated Greeting !

Thank you for using www.Greetings.com services !!!
Please take this opportunity to let your friends hear about us by sending them a postcard from our collection !

The message doesn’t contains any malware attached in a zip file unlike the Hallmark eCard mailings and others but there is URL pointing directly to a malicious host: hxxp://webmail.*****.com.br/logs/Greeting.jpg. The threat is named VBS.Obfuscated-gen[Trj] when requesting the online Greetings.jpg file.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

Gravatar
WordPress.com Logo

Please log in to WordPress.com to post a comment to your blog.

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers