FakeRean trojan is using the same subject of the latest ZBot variant

MX Lab just intercepted an email with the subject “A new settings file for the jp@******.com has just been released”, similar to the latest ZBot variant, but with a major difference in distribution. This time the email conatins the ZIP archive install.zip with the executable install.exe.

Body of the email:

Dear user of the ****.com mailing service!

We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of the mailing service your mailbox jp@****.com settings were changed. In order to apply the new set of settings open zip attached file.

Best regards, ****.com Technical Support.

Further investigation shows us that this virus is listening to the name W32/FakeRean.A.gen!Eldorado (F-Prot), TrojanDownloader:Win32/FakeRean (Microsoft),  W32/PackSpam.A!worm (Fortinet) or W32/FakeAV.AE!genr (Norman).

Virus Total permlink and MD5: 7d96ce7f588613f0343049918de70665. Only 15 of the 41 AV engines detected the trojan correctly. For more information regarding this tojan you could check out the Microsoft Malware Protection Center.

[Update - 16/10/2009 11:36 PM, local Belgian time]

The subject line changed to “Microsoft Outlook Notification for the ******.******@*****.be” and this is now the body of the email:

You have (6) New Message from Outlook Microsoft

- Please re-configure your Microsoft Outlook Again.
- Download attached setup file and install.

The trojan itself is still in the same ZIP archive and is around 50 kB large.

Virus Total permlink and MD5: 958e5d61d6617806f649946e02ff04c8. At Virus Total only 24 of the 41 AV engines detect the trojan so be carefull.

ZBot variant masked as settings file for MS Outlook

MX Lab has been tipped regarding a new 0-day email related virus by Alan Dougherty from the company Synergistix. Thanks for sharing this with us. MX Lab intercepted only one sample of the email so we had the possibility to investigate this.

The email comes from suport@****.com where **** stands for the domain that is being used in the recipient email address. This will make that the receiver thinks it is from the support department of his own company. Now, if you don’t have a support department it should be clear that this is spoofed and that the email must be handled as being suspicious. If you have a support department don’t accept the fact that they will give you instructions on how to install and run executables.

Possible subjects are :

A new settings file for the andre@****.com mailbox
The settings for the andre@****.com mailbox

The body of the email:

Dear user of the beweb.com mailing service!

We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of the mailing service your mailbox (andre@b****.com) settings were changed. In order to apply the new set of settings click on the following link:

hxxp://b****.com/owa/service_directory/settings.php?email=andre@b****.com=b****.com=andre

Best regards, beweb.com Technical Support.

The malware is not attached at the email but the inluded link will take you to a web site where you need to download the .exe file and apply the new settings. The malware listens to the names Trojan-Spy.Win32.Zbot.gen (F-Secure), Mal/Zbot-R (Sophos) or PWS:Win32/Zbot.gen!R (Microsoft). The file itself is about 92 kB big and has the name settings-file.exe.

Regarding ZBot: it is a trojan that disables firewall, steals sensitive financial data (credit card numbers, online banking login details), makes screen snapshots, downloads additional components, and provides a hacker with the remote access to the compromised system.

The trojan will create a file %System%\sdra64.exe and the hidden files %System%\lowsec\local.ds and %System%\lowsec\user.ds in combination with a hidden directory %System%\lowsec. There were new memory pages created in the address space of the system process(es): services.exe, lsass.exe, alg.exe, iexplore.exe and svchost.exe.

Several registry settings are modified and the trojan could make connection to a remote host on the IP 195.93.208.106 on port 80. Data requested is: hxxp://195.93.208.106/livs/rec.php, hxxp://195.93.208.106/lcc/ip1.gif and hxxp://195.93.208.106/ip.php.

In the sample from Alan Dougherty was the domain oikkkkuy.co.uk in use and ur sample contained bertdffm.co.uk. These domains are registered by the same licensee today and already offline. These are so called fast-flux domains.

With a typical domain, the IP address associated with the domain does not change often, if at all. Fast-flux domains use a large number of servers and a fast-changing domain A record to turn shutdown attempts into a game.

Domain name:
         bertdffm.co.uk

     Registrant:
         Evelyn Wilson

     Registrant type:
         Non-UK Individual

     Registrant's address:
         805 E. Stocker
         paris
         68554
         Belgium

     Registrar:
         Webfusion Ltd t/a 123-Reg.co.uk [Tag = 123-REG]
         URL: http://www.123-reg.co.uk

     Relevant dates:
         Registered on: 14-Oct-2009
         Renewal date:  14-Oct-2011
         Last updated:  14-Oct-2009

     Registration status:
         Registration request being processed.

     Name servers:
         No name servers listed.

     WHOIS lookup made at 16:46:50 14-Oct-2009

At the time of writing, Virus Total gives us the fact that only 6 of the 41 AV engines detect the new ZBot variant. Virus Total permlink and MD5: 06085157775a67575c8a40ba934af2d2.

[Update - 20/10/2009 -  4:25 PM Local Belgian time] Following domains are being used to host the malware:

bertdffm.co.uk
ffffexdl.co.uk
photo.net
polikkp.eu
nerrasssb.eu
nerassssp.co.uk
nerasssspt.co.uk
nerrasssx.eu
nerrasssy.eu
oikkkkuy.co.uk
opopio.co.uk
til1tlli.com
ttl1lll.com
ttl1lii.com
vvverfq.co.uk
vvverkp.co.uk

This will not be a full list of all malicious URLs.

For the domain nerrasssx.eu we have the following list of A records:

nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	91.141.19.106
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	83.55.90.230
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	77.105.4.79
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	190.82.168.179
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	85.65.48.188
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	92.85.230.178
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	190.16.45.45
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	201.62.140.63
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	190.245.16.36
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	95.133.54.191
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	89.173.151.200
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	218.209.20.19
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	78.30.202.143
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	190.245.42.164
nerrasssx.eu.		1800	IN	A	95.209.138.179

For the domain nerrasssb.eu we have the following list of A records:

nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	95.133.54.191
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	190.245.42.164
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	201.62.140.63
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	89.173.151.200
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	190.16.45.45
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	95.209.138.179
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	83.55.90.230
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	77.105.4.79
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	92.85.230.178
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	190.82.168.179
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	91.141.19.106
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	78.30.202.143
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	85.65.48.188
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	218.209.20.19
nerrasssb.eu.		1800	IN	A	190.245.16.36
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers