MX Lab, http://www.mxlab.eu, detected a new directory scam with the subject “World Company Register 2011/2012″ from the company EU Business Services Ltd under the name “Europe Business Guide”.
In the past, MX Lab already warned about some directory scams and the malicious marketing techniques these companies handle.
MX Lab wants to point out a few things before you sign their contract with the Europe Business Guide.
The email we intercepted comes from Laura Allan <info@serv2ebg.com> and when we visit the site http://www.serv2ebg.com/ we get an online website directory to see.
The message has the subject “World Company Register 2011/2012″ and the following email body:
Ladies and Gentlemen.
In order to have your company inserted in the registry of World Businesses
for 2011/2012 edition, please print, complete and submit the enclosed
form (PDF file) to the following address:
Europe Business Guide
P.O. BOX 2021
3500 GA, UTRECHT
THE NETHERLANDS
email: register@ebg-online-2011.com
FAX: +31 20 524 8107
Updating is free of charge!
If you are not the intended recipient, please submit an email to
unsubscribe@ebg-online-2011.com
Your request shall be dealt with accordingly.
Attached to the email is the PDF file EBG_2011.pdf.

The first item you will need to be carefull with is near the marker 1 at the top of the document on the right:
To update your company profile, please print, complete and return this form.
(Updating is free of charge). Only sign if you want to place an insertion.
The second item you need to read are the small letters, especially near the marker 2:
THE VALIDATION TIME OF THE CONTRACT IS THREE YEARS AND STARTS ON THE EIGHTH DAY AFTER SIGNING THE CONTRACT. THE INSERTION IS GRANTED AFTER SIGNING AND RECEIVING THIS DOCUMENT BY
THE SERVICE PROVIDER. I HEREBY ORDER A SUBSCRIPTION WITH SERVICE PROVIDER EU BUSINESS SERVICES LTD “EUROPE BUSINESS GUIDE”. I WILL HAVE AN INSERTION TO ITS DATA BASE FOR THREE YEARS. THE PRICE PER YEAR IS EURO 990.
What does this mean? Well, according to the document, when it is returned back with your signature, your entry in the Europe Business Guide is subject to a contract for the next 3 years with a price tag of 990 Euro per year.
This is a malicious technique in order to get companies signed to a contract of 990 Euros per year adn again, we expect that some people will be fooled by this way of working.
Our recommendation is: don’t sign the document and don’t do business with this company.
Follow these guidelines if you are a victim of this directory scam:
- Do not pay, even if they imply to take your case to court.
- If you have paid a certain amount, stop the next payments. Expect that you won’t get a refund either.
- Send them a letter informing them you have been misled and telling them to cancel the contract.
- If possible, report to (local) authorities.
Some additional information.
The domain serv2ebg.com was used in the from address. This domain does not contain a web site but only shows the webhost directory.

The domain has been registered very recently on October, 8th, 2010 with the following details at the DNS registrar HICHINA ZHICHENG TECHNOLOGY LTD:
Domain Name: SERV2EBG.COM
Registrar: HICHINA ZHICHENG TECHNOLOGY LTD.
Whois Server: grs.hichina.com
Referral URL: http://www.net.cn
Name Server: NS1.DOMREFERENCE.COM
Name Server: NS2.DOMREFERENCE.COM
Status: ok
Updated Date: 08-oct-2010
Creation Date: 08-oct-2010
Expiration Date: 08-oct-2011
Domain Name ..................... SERV2EBG.COM
Name Server ..................... ns1.domreference.com
ns2.domreference.com
Registrant ID ................... hc348010405-cn
Registrant Name ................. zhang ming
Registrant Organization ......... zhang ming
Registrant Address .............. gaoyaoshichangyuanlu12hao12lou101shi
Registrant City ................. gaoyaoshi
Registrant Province/State ....... Guangdong
Registrant Postal Code .......... 023652
Registrant Country Code ......... CN
Registrant Phone Number ......... +86.6358559985 -
Registrant Fax .................. +86.6358559985 -
Registrant Email ................ dfghrter@hotmail.com
Administrative ID ............... hc348010405-cn
Administrative Name ............. zhang ming
Administrative Organization ..... zhang ming
Administrative Address .......... gaoyaoshichangyuanlu12hao12lou101shi
Administrative City ............. gaoyaoshi
Administrative Province/State ... Guangdong
Administrative Postal Code ...... 023652
Administrative Country Code ..... CN
Administrative Phone Number ..... +86.6358559985 -
Administrative Fax .............. +86.6358559985 -
Administrative Email ............ dfghrter@hotmail.com
Billing ID ...................... hc348010405-cn
Billing Name .................... zhang ming
Billing Organization ............ zhang ming
Billing Address ................. gaoyaoshichangyuanlu12hao12lou101shi
Billing City .................... gaoyaoshi
Billing Province/State .......... Guangdong
Billing Postal Code ............. 023652
Billing Country Code ............ CN
Billing Phone Number ............ +86.6358559985 -
Billing Fax ..................... +86.6358559985 -
Billing Email ................... dfghrter@hotmail.com
Technical ID .................... hc348010405-cn
Technical Name .................. zhang ming
Technical Organization .......... zhang ming
Technical Address ............... gaoyaoshichangyuanlu12hao12lou101shi
Technical City .................. gaoyaoshi
Technical Province/State ........ Guangdong
Technical Postal Code ........... 023652
Technical Country Code .......... CN
Technical Phone Number .......... +86.6358559985 -
Technical Fax ................... +86.6358559985 -
Technical Email ................. dfghrter@hotmail.com
Expiration Date ................. 2011-10-08 10:28:21
The domain used to send the unsubscribe requests to is ebg-online-2011.com and is registered at the DNS registrar Dotster also on October, 8th, 2010.
Domain Name: EBG-ONLINE-2011.COM
Registrar: DOTSTER, INC.
Whois Server: whois.dotster.com
Referral URL: http://www.dotster.com
Name Server: NS1.DOMREFERENCE.COM
Name Server: NS2.DOMREFERENCE.COM
Status: ok
Updated Date: 08-oct-2010
Creation Date: 08-oct-2010
Expiration Date: 08-oct-2011
Registrant:
International Directories LTD
C/Azcona 58, Local
madrid, madrid 28028
ES
Registrar: DOTSTER
Domain Name: EBG-ONLINE-2011.COM
Created on: 08-OCT-10
Expires on: 08-OCT-11
Last Updated on: 08-OCT-10
Administrative, Technical Contact:
fernandez, marco bricinternational@gmail.com
International Directories LTD
C/Azcona 58, Local
madrid, madrid 28028
ES
+34917919176
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.DOMREFERENCE.COM
NS2.DOMREFERENCE.COM
Note that this domain is registered with a license holder in Spain.
The company itself is running it's business on http://www.europebusinessguide.net/ and when visiting the About us page we found the following:
The Europe Business Guide Online is a product of EU Business Services Ltd, a corporation organized and existing under the law of Nevis, West Indies.
The domain europebusinessguide.net itself has been registered since March 3rd, 2010 by antoher Chineese DNS registrar:
Domain Name: EUROPEBUSINESSGUIDE.NET
Registrar: BEIJING INNOVATIVE LINKAGE TECHNOLOGY LTD. DBA DNS.COM.CN
Whois Server: whois.dns.com.cn
Referral URL: http://www.dns.com.cn
Name Server: NS1.EUROPEBUSINESSGUIDE.NET
Name Server: NS2.EUROPEBUSINESSGUIDE.NET
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 03-mar-2010
Creation Date: 02-mar-2010
Expiration Date: 02-mar-2011
Domain Name.......... EUROPEBUSINESSGUIDE.NET
Creation Date........ 2010-03-03 12:45:36
Registration Date.... 2010-03-03 12:45:36
Expiry Date.......... 2011-03-03 12:45:36
Organisation Name.... EU BUSINESS SERVICES LTD
Organisation Address. PO BOX 2021 3500 GA UTRECHT
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Nevis West Indies
Organisation Address. 3500
Organisation Address. WG
Organisation Address. NL
Admin Name........... EU BUSINESS SERVICES LTD
Admin Address........ PO BOX 2021 3500 GA UTRECHT
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Nevis West Indies
Admin Address........ 3500
Admin Address........ WG
Admin Address........ NL
Admin Email.......... toppk7863@yahoo.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.203824833
Admin Fax............ +1.203824833
Tech Name............ EU BUSINESS SERVICES LTD
Tech Address......... PO BOX 2021 3500 GA UTRECHT
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Nevis West Indies
Tech Address......... 3500
Tech Address......... WG
Tech Address......... NL
Tech Email........... toppk7863@yahoo.com
Tech Phone........... +1.203824833
Tech Fax............. +1.203824833
Bill Name............ EU BUSINESS SERVICES LTD
Bill Address......... PO BOX 2021 3500 GA UTRECHT
Bill Address.........
Bill Address......... Nevis West Indies
Bill Address......... 3500
Bill Address......... WG
Bill Address......... NL
Bill Email........... toppk7863@yahoo.com
Bill Phone........... +1.203824833
Bill Fax............. +1.203824833
Name Server.......... ns2.europebusinessguide.net
Name Server.......... ns1.europebusinessguide.net
The company EU Business Services Ltd have changed domains in order to start a new campaign. It is the same company that MX Lab covered in another blog article regarding the World Business Guide.
Additional information:
Stop EU Business Services Ltd Trading As World Business Directory
Stop world-businessdirectory.com