Receive a bonus of 2000 € – not everything is what it looks like
April 3, 2011 Leave a comment
MX Lab, http://www.mxlab.eu, intercept a large spam campaign what in fact appears to be an SMS scam system.
Email messages are sent from no-reply-xxx@finance-magazine.eu, where the XXX stands for random numbers. The domain finance-magazine.eu is from the The European CFO Magazine.
Many different subjects in the French language are being used to get some attraction:
Une offre qou vous ne pouvez pas refuser
Une opportunite unique d’une vie
Faire de l’argent n’a jamais ete aussi facile!
Etes-vous interesse ?
…
This is the email content:

The embedded URLs directs visitors to hxxp://berborso.com/c/8D1DB23B.

On this landing page you will need to fill in your details including your mobile phone number.

When your details are submitted, you’ll receive an SMS with an activation code. This code needs to be filled in again on this webform together with some additional details.
I haven’t filled in my real phone number but I’m pretty sure that this is a complete SMS scam. I wouldn’t be suprised if you receive more SMS messages later on that are credited on your phone bill later on.
This domain name is registered in the Ukraine:
Service Provided By: Center of Ukrainian Internet Names Website: http://www.ukrnames.com Contact: +380.577626123 Domain Name: BERBORSO.COM Creation Date: 28-Mar-2011 Modification Date: 28-Mar-2011 Expiration Date: 28-Mar-2012 Domain servers in listed order: ns1.hahray.in ns2.hahray.in Registrant: Son Svan hdgi-domains@gmail.com WATER STREET 45/54 CHRIST CHURCH, BB17056 BARBADOS +1.24615566596
Be carefull if you receive offers like this.
